FINANCE AND PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

December 8, 2015

The Finance and Personnel Committee met jointly with the Highway and Transportation Committee on Tuesday, December 8, 2015, at 9:00 a.m., in the County Board Room, located on the Third Floor of the Courthouse, 181 West Seminary Street, Richland Center, Wisconsin.

Finance and Personnel Committee members present included: Jeanetta Kirkpatrick, Bob Bellman, Fred Clary, Tom Crofton, Gaylord Deets, Larry Sebranek and Lew Van Vliet.

Highway Committee members present included: Richard Rasmussen, Gaylord Deets, Paul Kinney, Buford Marshall and Jim Lewis.

Others present included: Victor Vlasak, County Clerk; Ben Southwick, Corporation Counsel; and Jim Chitwood, Highway Commissioner.

Chairman Kirkpatrick called the Finance and Personnel Committee meeting to order.

The Clerk verified that the meeting had been properly noticed. Copies of the agenda were sent either by mail or email to all Finance and Personnel Committee members and to each County Department Head, a copy was posted on the Courthouse Bulletin Board and the County web site, a copy was faxed to The Richland Observer and a copy was emailed to WRCO.

Motion by Clary, second by Van Vliet to approve the agenda for the Finance and Personnel Committee. Motion carried.

Chairman Rasmussen called the Highway and Transportation Committee meeting to order.

Motion by Marshall, second by Kinney to approve the agenda for the Highway and Transportation Committee. Motion carried.

The language in the proposed resolution for approval to purchase the Schneider parcel for use as a sand pit for the Highway Department was discussed. Highway Commissioner Chitwood presented estimated costs associated with a projected thirty year use of the site. Meetings have been held at which time surrounding landowners attending have expressed support of the proposed usage of the site, with the exception of one landowner.

Motion by Bellman, second by Sebranek that the Finance and Personnel Committee go into closed session under section 19.85 (1) (e) to discuss the offering price for the Schneider parcel and that the County Clerk, Corporation Counsel and Highway Commissioner be allowed to remain. Roll call vote: AYES: Kirkpatrick, Clary, Bellman, Sebranek, Van Vliet, Crofton, Deets. Ayes 7. Noes 0. Total 7. Motion carried.

Motion by Marshall, second by Kinney that the Highway and Transportation Committee go into closed session under section 19.85 (1) (e) to discuss the offering price for the Schneider parcel and that the County Clerk, Corporation Counsel and Highway Commissioner be allowed to remain. Roll call vote. AYES: Marshall, Kinney, Deets, Lewis, Rasmussen. Ayes 5. Noes 0. Total 5. Motion carried.

Closed session.

Finance/Personnel Committee December 8, 2015 Page 2

Motion by Van Vliet, second by Sebranek that the Finance and Personnel Committee return to open session. Motion carried.

Motion by Marshall, second by Kinney that the Highway and Transportation Committee return to open session. Motion carried.

Motion by Clary, second by Crofton that the Finance and Personnel Committee adjourn. Motion carried.

Motion by Kinney, second by Deets that the Highway and Transportation Committee adjourn. Motion carried.

Victor V. Vlasak Richland County Clerk