REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE

August 26, 2021

The Redistricting Committee convened at 5:00 p.m., Thursday, August 26, 2021, in the County Board Room at 181 West Seminary Street and via videoconference and teleconference.

Committee members present included: Shaun Murphy-Lopez, Bob Frank, Chad Cosgrove, Aaron Joyce, Bobbi Ann Goplin, Susie Hauri, Alan Lins, Dorothy Thompson, and John Poole.

Others present included: Derek Kalish, County Clerk; Lynn Newkirk, GIS Technician; Clinton Langreck, County Administrator; Michael Windle, Corporation Counsel; Tammy Wheelock, Deputy County Clerk.

- 1. Call to order: County Clerk Kalish called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.
- 2. **Proof of notification:** Kalish verified that the meeting had been properly noticed.
- **3.** Agenda approval: Motion by Poole, second by Thompson for approval of agenda. All ayes, motion carried.
- **4.** Election of Chairperson and Vice Chairperson: Cosgrove made a motion to nominate Bob Frank as Chairperson. Second by Hauri. All ayes, motion carried.

Frank takes lead of meeting.

Hauri makes motion to nominate Murphy-Lopez as Vice Chairperson. Second by Thompson. All ayes, motion carried.

- **5. Redistricting Process and Timelines:** Kalish gives overview of process and timelines. He explains that redistricting is done every 10 years, after the census is complete. The statutory deadline for completed redistricting is November 23, 2021. Per the 2020 census, the county population is 17,304, down from over 18,000. Each district should have 824 citizens, with only 5% under or over that number. Newkirk demonstrates capability of computer software to aid in process. Poole questions how this will affect districts. Newkirk states a new ward would be created; townships would not change. Murphy-Lopez reminds committee that the resolution states that staff are responsible for mapping while the committee is responsible for establishing guidelines, giving feedback, and approval of redistricting. Murphy-Lopez makes motion to adopt tentative timeline. Second by Thompson. All ayes, motion carries.
- 6. Adoption of Redistricting Guidelines: Murphy-Lopez shares examples of redistricting guidelines, from Iowa state, Dane County, and an article from the Wisconsin State Journal. Some include: respect for political subdivision, contiguousness, and compactness. Hauri reads excerpt from a legislative guide. Thompson and Poole agree with examples given. Hauri asks for opinion of Kalish and Newkirk. Newkirk states the guidelines mentioned have been taken into consideration. Joyce questions if city wards will remain part of city. Newkirk states, city residents will remain city residents, new wards would be created. Motion for approval of guidelines by Thompson, second by Cosgrove. All ayes, motion carried.
- 7. Tentative Plan: Kalish and Newkirk will draft tentative plan and present at next committee meeting.
- **8.** Establishment of Future Meeting Dates: Motion by Poole, second by Hauri to set public hearing for September 20, at 6:00 p.m. in the County Board Room of the Courthouse and via WebEx.
- **9.** Ideas for Future Agenda Items: Hauri requests resources for municipal clerks. Kalish offers support to committee members and clerks.

Next Redistricting Committee meeting will be September 9, at 5:00 p.m. in the County Board Room of the Courthouse and via WebEx.

10. Adjourn: Motion by Thompson, second by Murphy-Lopez to adjourn at 6:05p.m. All ayes, motion carried.

Tammy Wheelock Richland County Deputy Clerk